Laundry Day!

As you’ve probably gathered from the title, today’s post will be about laundry. I know, I know, it’s not something we all like to think about. Especially when we have kids who never like to wear their clothes twice! My washer and dryer is in the basement of our two-story house and the bedrooms on on the top floor. It’s a lot of stairs to drag that huge hamper up and down. I try to wait until the hamper is overflowing and the girls are on their last pair of undies before doing it. Then, with a sigh, I awkwardly carry the hamper down to the basement. Did I mention that our basement staircase is weirdly thin too?? Thank goodness Matthew does our laundry and I do the kids’s, or I’d probably be doing laundry every single day! At least I’d be in good shape then :p.

Anyway, got off topic a bit there. Laundry. Specifically laundry soap and detergent. Here is a nice chart that explains what some of those nasty, irritant ingredients are in our laundry detergent and what they can actually do to us. Some people are more sensitive than others to detergents and can break out in rashes. This is also an interesting read and gives you a recipe and some tips for in the laundry room. Ugh why must they put this stuff in our products! If you’re only going to read one of these though, this is the one. Wow…just wow.

With people going greener and realizing what kinds of harsh chemicals are in their home and beauty products, there are a lot of better products out there to choose from. I haven’t tried them yet because I found a homemade one that works well for me. Just make sure you read the label before buying! Even some labels that say “green” try to sneak some nasty stuff in there so just know what you want to avoid and try to find a company you can trust.

20160113_092128

I’m making another batch as I write this! Ps. The tea tree soap smells awesome…I kind of want to get a bunch of tea tree bars just to use, too.

Here is the recipe I’ve been using for months in my washer:

  • 1 bar of soap (Castile soap also works well)*
  • 1 cup washing soda
  • 1 cup Borax
  • Grate the entire bar of soap.

Directions:

  • Add grated soap to blender with 1 cup of either the washing soda or the borax. Basically you just
    20160113_093926

    Ready for the blender! 1 cup of Borax and 1 bar of soap, grated.

    want to blend it until the pieces are cute more finely so that the soap dissolves easily in the washing machine.

  • Add the blended mixture to a bowl and mix in the remaining 1 cup of either washing soda or Borax. Use a spoon to mix it thoroughly and break up any large chunks.
  • Use 1 heaped tbsp per load. Use 2 tbsp for extra dirty load.

*I use Dr Bronners pure-castile soap bars. The come in different scents and unscented. I wasn’t a fan of the almond scent, but I liked the lavender and I’m trying tea tree this time.

I also like to add a bit of scent booster to the jar to make it smell awesome. You can leave it out though if you want, too. Ps. The lavender one smells awesome. Plus, the measurements make it super easy to double or triple! (If your arm can handle all the grating!)

 

 

Fabric Softeners

Ok, next let’s talk fabric softeners and dryer sheets. Here is a bit of information about them to get us started. Hmm…I don’t like those ingredients. If that wasn’t enough information, how about this? I don’t know about you, but I feel like I need to get a huge box of baking soda after reading those. Still not enough? How about nowNowNOW?20160113_092326

Here is the recipe I use for fabric softener at the moment: 

  • 4 Cups Epsom Salts
  • 40 drops Essential Oils (lavender and tea tree are great choices)
  • Mix them together and you are done.

Directions

  • Use 1-2 tbsp per wash load.

And that’s it! So easy you’ll wonder why you haven’t always been doing this! I don’t even put dryer sheets in my dryer anymore. I love the smell of my clothes when they come out; and to be honest, I didn’t even notice any change when I switched to this detergent or softener. Usually Matthew is wary to use my homemade stuff, but he does actually use these and has never said anything bad about them. He even likes it when I make more! If that doesn’t make you switch, I don’t know what will!

Wash away all my iniquity
    and cleanse me from my sin.                                                                                                                                               Psalm 51:2

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

