This Week

I know you’re all wondering how court went again yesterday, but we have no new news. It

20160128_191130

Don’t really have any new pictures to share 🙂

was adjourned again for another 3 weeks. It is a little frustrating that no decisions have been made yet. Yes I want princess to stay around as long as possible, but they’ve been putting off making any decisions for 6 months already.

On a brighter note, I think we’re all on the mend finally. My cough is almost gone and the girls’s are on the way out too. Thankfully, Matthew didn’t get the chest infection as well (fingers crossed). Munchkin had pink eye again today, but she let me put eye drops in without screaming or flailing (win!). Plus it was nice enough to go to the park today, so the kids really enjoyed that. Aaaand I packed chocolate chip pancakes and fruit salad for lunch tomorrow so I pretty much feel like an awesome mom right now.

20160123_121245

“Dragon” bun

Actually I’ve been trying to come up with some creative lunch meals, as they aren’t allowed to bring any food that needs to be warmed up. My go-to is usually just a sandwich, a fruit, and a veggie…but the girls are getting pretty bored with that. On Monday I packed English muffin pizza buns, which the girls really enjoyed. Today we had tuna with cheese, green onion, and pickles on vegetable crackers. Tomorrow will be chocolate chip pancakes and fruit salad (as previously stated :)) and Thursday will be pigs in a blanket. Friday is the girls’s Valentine’s party at school so I’m going to pack some strawberry muffins with ham, cheese, and veggie crackers. Sounds like a pretty yummy week to me!

I don’t really have much more to report at the moment, but I’m going to try to do a few posts here and there when things do happen for those of you who wonder what’s up. I’m also hoping to do a few posts in the future about some things that I’m trying at home that I’m pretty excited about so far! I hope they continue to be great so I can share them soon!

I’m going to share a quick house cleaning recipe because I’ve been impressed with how well it’s been working.

All Purpose Cleaner

  • 2 tbspDr. Bronner’s liquid soap (I like the peppermint)
  • 20-30 drops tea tree oil
  • 1 cup white vinegar (optional)
  • Warm water
  • Spray bottle

Directions

  • Add 3 Tablespoons of your favorite Dr. Bronner’s castile soap, 1 cup of vinegar, and 20-30 drops of tea tree oil to a 16 oz. spray bottle.
  • Fill nearly to the top with warm water.
  • Shake it well and spray it on bathroom or kitchen surfaces, floors, even dirty little hands if they’re nearby. Wipe off with a damp cloth.

This has been working really well for me so far. If there’s a stubborn dirt spot just spray it and let it sit for a minute or so and then wipe it. I love that you can use it on pretty much everything! You can use unscented soap if you want and use a different essential oil or blend of oils that you like (like lemon). The great thing about making your own is you can personalize it!

If you look around on Pinterest there are a lot of other great non-harmful cleaners you can make easily. It’s great to have an every day one that isn’t full of harmful chemicals or fragrances…especially if there are little ones around. I know some cleaners out there that burn the inside of your nose when you use it! They can’t really be good to be around right? Ones with Dr. Bronner’s soap, vinegar or apple cider vinegar would be good too. Vinegar has a lot of great uses…especially apple cider vinegar which can be used in everything from cleaners to diabetes to weight loss. Here is some information about apple cider vinegar. There are some others that use real lemons or oranges that would be fun, too, and both have great natural cleaning properties.

 

Leave a Reply

