Gyros and Rice

So I tried something new for supper tonight and I just have to share it. I don’t know about you guys, but once in a while I need to try something that I’ve never made before. Matthew always shivers slightly when I tell him I’m trying something new. I guess he has good reason. Most of the time it turns outs awesome…but sometimes not so much. Over the years I have seen him respond to these food adventures in different ways…from cringing at the first bite, to telling me it’s “not bad”, and even telling me I need to make it again. Tonight’s meal was the latter. Even when I told him what was in it, he still wants me to make it again! (He’s usually not a fan of using tea in foods.) I call that a success.

Now to be fair, we tried gyros for the first time last week so that wasn’t new. Everyone loved them so much I had to make them again. We made them with garlic pita bread, baked chicken, lettuce, cheese, and tzatziki. This time I decided to make the chicken a little more interesting so I started with Baked Honey Mustard Chicken. I didn’t quite have all the spices so here is my improvised recipe: 20160223_181417

Ingredients:

  • 4 large chicken breasts
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup honey mustard
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp marjoram

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  • Sprinkle chicken breasts with salt and pepper to taste, and place in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking dish. In a small bowl, combine the honey, mustard, oregano, paprika, and marjoram. Mix well. Pour 1/2 of this mixture over the chicken, and brush to cover.
  • Bake for 30 minutes. Turn chicken pieces over and brush with the remaining 1/2 of the honey mustard mixture. Bake for an additional 10 to 15 minutes, or until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear. Cut in to pieces.

When everything was ready we made the gyros the same as before. We like to warm up the pitas in the oven for 90 seconds at 200 degrees first. Then I spread some tzatziki over it and placed lettuce, chicken, shredded cheese, and Matthew and I like to add some green onion.

For the side dish I tried rice this time. I saw a post about Jasmine rice and thought that sounded good…but I didn’t have Jasmine tea or the special rice so I improvised again. Here is what I did: 20160223_182237

Ingredients:

  • water
  • brown rice
  • honey green tea
  • chopped green onion
  • slivered almonds
  • margarine
  • sea salt

Directions:

  • Read instructions on the box for how to make rice. Different kinds of rice have different instructions so just follow yours. Mine said to boil the water first. So as it was boiling I put some tea in a strainer ball and swished it around in the water until it was fragrant (then I put the tea leaves in my tea maker and drank some yummy honey green tea all evening). Then I cooked the rice like normal.
  • After it was cooked I added some margarine, green onion, salt, and almonds. You can add as much or as little as you like.

20160223_182847And that’s it! Let me know if you try it and if you liked it. A lot of times there are recipes that sound really good but I don’t have all the stuff handy so I just improvise. Usually they turn out alright. Let me know if you do that, too!

We wait in hope for the Lord;
    he is our help and our shield.
In him our hearts rejoice,
    for we trust in his holy name.
May your unfailing love be with us, Lord,
    even as we put our hope in you.                                                                          Psalm 33:20-22

 

 

Leave a Reply

