Bugs Be Gone!

Hey y’all! Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. It has been crazy around here. First Matthew was sick and had to be hospitalized for a couple weeks so I was home alone with the kids. Then it’s just been a mad house around here with court dates, school, appointments, and the summer weather calls us outside.

Anyway, with it being almost summer (sure feels like it today) I thought I’d share some good all natural bug sprays you can make and use at home. I’m sure you all know about the risks of using commercial insect repellents with Deet in them. Everything that touches your skin is absorbed in to your blood stream. However, sometimes it is necessary to use them; like in a particularly mosquito infested place it would be a good idea to spray it on clothing to keep disease-carrying insects away. Please read the label before applying as some of these can be quite risky for children and are not really supposed to go on your skin. But, there are other options that are less scary to use every day while out in the yard, going to the park, etc.

First off I’ll share some essential oils that are great for deterring bugs:

I’ve added links to each oil and I urge you to do your own research before using. If you read about each oil you will see the many amazing uses for them; I’ve just highlighted ones pertaining to insects. Also, plants like citronella, lemongrass, and peppermint are great to plant in the garden to help keep bugs away as well.

I highly recommend everyone owning a bottle of tea tree oil. I put it in my kids’s hair dangler to ward away lice as they are in school, but there are so many amazing uses for it. I also apply to directly to pimples to dry them out. You could also put a few drops in their shampoo or conditioner (you can buy ones with it already in, too) or even just mix some with water and spray their hair before going to school. I even spray it in my hair just in case. I’m terrified of lice and now that I have two kids in kindergarten and one in preschool I think about it all the time! We haven’t had any so far though so I’m thankful for that.

This is the bug spray I used all last summer and I will definitely use it again!20160503_130623_1

Ingredients
  • ¼ cup Water
  • ¼ cup Witch Hazel
  • 1 Tbsp Epsom Salts
  • 1 Tbsp Aloe Vera Gel
  • 15 drops Citronella essential oil
  • 10 drops of each Tea Tree, Lavender, and Eucalyptus essential oils
  • 1 tsp Vitamin E oil (optional for extra moisturizer)
Instructions
  1. Mix all ingredients together in a spray bottle and shake before using. Spray as necessary!

What I like about this bug spray is that it also has Aloe Vera, Epsom salts, and Witch Hazel which are all great for soothing sun burns and itchiness caused by bug bites (from not using the spray ;)).

I also found this post if you’d like to try some other blends and see what works best for you. Here is another site with some great recipes to try as well. Here is one last one that uses apple cider vinegar in it.

I hope this helps keep you bug and itch-free this summer. Enjoy your day!

 

“He answered: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’, and ‘Love your neighbors as yourself.”      Luke 10:27

 

Leave a Reply

